Reviews & Testimonials

Proven Effective

Recently we took a careful inventory of reviews made on Shawn Trautman Instruction dance lesson DVDs. From Amazon, Ebay, & reviews made right here on ShawnTrautman.com we have had over 4,600 total reviews as of September 2017. All told we have an average review rating of 4.7 out of 5 from 4,636 total reviews. This does not include feedback we receive from customers via email, video or hand written letters which cannot be quantified.

We listen, we care & we improve

As Shawn is an ever evolving instructor and inventor, he strives to constantly improve on every aspect of his instruction, from the lighting in the studio to the amount of repetitions he does a certain move before going on to the next. Amongst the rapid changes in technology, Shawn has always utilized one key force for adapting and improving his instructional videos: customer reviews.

Since the very first video Shawn put on the market in 2005, to the latest in 2014, Shawn & his team take the time to read every single review. He often contacts the reviewer with his appreciation for their time.

From eBay to Amazon.com and the multitude of wholesalers that have helped Shawn distribute his videos, more than 4,000 reviews have been posted that clearly back up the statement of the "#1 Rated Dance Lesson DVDs". Of course not every review can be 100% positive, however we have found that almost all negative reviews were based on one of two reasons; either the product description on a third party's website was simply not sufficient or the purchaser did not take the time read the product description. Shawn's beginner videos are intended for either first time beginners or those who need a refresher on a particular dance.

ShawnTrautman.com is the only place you can purchase Shawn's videos and have the option to return them if they do not meet your expectations. We also have the lowest prices, so when you are ready to take the plunge and start enjoying dancing, make your purchase on ShawnTrautman.com, you wont regret it... Guaranteed!

Recent Hand-written Reviews

Just recently we recieved a large number of hand written reviews from a group of dance students whom are learning how to dance with the assistance of Shawn Trautman dance videos. Click on the images below to enlarge and read these reviews.

Video Reviews


Online Reviews

(pg 1 of 18)

Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next

By: Rebecca Marquez
DVD: Club Line Dances
On: August 24, 2015
Love this

"I absolutely LOVE the DVD! It is so helpful and I love how basic and easy the instruction is. It is a very tough workout for me as I am older and out of shape. The super fun thing is that my husband has started to join me on the workouts and it makes it so much more fun! I can't wait to really get it down where I know the dances well enough to start adding some "groove" to my style!

Thanks to you for providing something for true beginners! We laugh and have so much fun but we have not made it through all the dances yet...(we will need to build up to it)

Thank You"


By: alvernia
DVD: Club Line Dances
On: August 18, 2015
Dancing Dolls

"I'm using the DVDs with a beginners group of older adults (70s to 90s). It's so much fun and terrific exercise for this age group. The steps are presented in such a way that they are easy to follow. When the tempo speeds up, we do find that some people have two left feet -- or two right feet -- but the dance goes on, and by the time the music is added we're all together. Thanks so much. By the way, we call ourselves "The Dancing Dolls."


By: Dr. Earl W. Boatwright
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: August 16, 2015
70 Years Old and Learning to Dance!

"All my life, I sort of shuffled around and called it slow dancing. Now my wife and I stand out on the dance floor and feel great about our dancing. I have other Trautman CDs (West Coast Swing) and recommend them all highly."


By: Kristina B. Evans
DVD: Club Line Dances
On: April 8, 2015
Exactly as expected

"As an instructional video, this was exactly as expected. The instructors are clear and easy to follow. No complaints and Id definitely recommend."


By: Julie Werkmeister
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: May 16, 2015
Excellent

"Excellent dance starter of the basic dances. Good instruction."


By: Floyd Beatty
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: February 20, 2015
Great Video!

"My wife and I were planning on our Granddaughter's wedding and it had been years since we danced so we got this DVD. I highly recommend it! It is easy and he goes over the steps multiple times. The greatest asset with this video is the little tips and pointers he gives you that make it so much easier."


By: Janet S
DVD: Cha-Cha 101
On: January 16, 2013
I was spending a fortune on private lessons

"I came across Shawn's cha-cha video on Amazon and read the reviews. Because I had a multitude of questions, I called the directly to the company and spoke directly to Shawn. The conversation was a long one... he answered every one of my questions... and then some! Now I still take private lessons; but I come home and practice with Shawn. My instructor is amazed how fast I'm progressing now. He keeps asking me what I'm doing... I'm not giving him my ace in the hole."


By: Dave Gibson
DVD: Cha-Cha 101
On: December 29, 2011
Instruction is incredible

"This is a wonderful series from a truly talented dance professional. Instruction is incredible, quality and content of the DVDs are outstanding. If you have a passion to learn Cha-Cha, Salsa or Swing, for example, Mr. Trautman and his series is where you need to turn. I wholeheartedly endorse these instructional tapes. You will enjoy/have fun learning these incredible lessons. Customer service -outstanding!"


By: Jane (janeluvsmaui)
DVD: Cha-Cha 101
On: January 5, 2012
Extremely easy to follow

"The Shawn Trautman Cha Cha 101 is extremely easy to follow. Shawn teaches the leader's part, and his wife Joanna teaches the followers part. In no time, you will be doing the Cha Cha and loving it! If you have questions, you can ask Shawn on Facebook! Customer Service is outstanding! I paid less for the Cha Cha 101 than I did for 15 minutes of private lessons...and I can keep practicing with the DVD! Such a great value!"


By: D. Danner
DVD: Cha-Cha 101
On: January 20, 2012
A Fun Dance to Learn thanks to Shawn and Joanna

"This is our third Shawn Trautman 101 Dvd and we loved it. Apparently, all their 101 dvd's have the same organization of: 1. Intro, 2. Rhythm & Timing, 3. Connection and Style, 4. Leading & Following, and 5. a Review. This format works extremely well for my wife and I, and it makes it quite easy to return to particular sections of the dvd for follow-up review and practice. Although it might be elementary for experienced dancers, I found the Rhythm and Timing section particularly helpful in getting me started, and I liked the way Shawn breaks down the beat and then builds it from clapping, to walking, to the basic dance step. Shawn and Joanna again do a wonderful job of explaining the basics together for both the leader and the follower, and they share many helpful tips in both the Connection/Style and Lead/Follow sections of the dvd. They cover several moves beyond the basic step and by the end of the dvd you will have a complete enough group of moves or figures to thoroughly enjoy the Cha Cha and look confident on the dance floor. The Trautmans obviously have a great love for dancing, and they are quite successful in passing that love onto their students."


By: Melody I, Portland OR
DVD: Country Dance 101
On: April 18, 2012
excellent introduction to country line and partner dancing

"Country Dance 101 is an excellent introduction to country line and partner dancing. The low-key atmosphere, friendly instructors, and ease of following the steps was very helpful. The dance choices are easy enough that the stress level is very low, if any is present. Practice without and with music builds a confidence in the student; progress moves at speed student chooses. I'm anxious to move on to more DVDs, honing skills and learning new dances. Thanks, Shawn and Joanna!!!"


By: Savanna J, Cleveland OH
DVD: Country Dance 101
On: December 17, 2012
will let our friends know to get this one first

"OK - so we realized that we did this one out of order. We should have done it prior to our 2 step and Triple 2 step videos but we found it to be a great refresher nonetheless and we picked some new things up. It's different in that it covers a great deal of specifics if you are going out country dancing like what to wear and the types of music and the dancing as well as lessons on 2 step and Triple 2 step and a couple of non-couples dances. The two non-couples dances taught were fun, too, and it gave us something different to practice. We would rather have watched this one first to get a great overview than to have done it the way we did but we would still recommend it and will let our friends know to get this one first."


By: S. Douglas, AR OH
DVD: Country Dance 101
On: October 7, 2012
At 50 years old I wanted to learn to dance.

"At 50 years old I wanted to learn to dance. Shawn Trautman & his wife Joanna are teaching me to do just that. This country dance DVD goes into detail and shows the dances in all positions, for both men and women. I am dancing! Thank you Shawn and Joanna. I will be ordering more lessons..."


By: Larecia S, Houston
DVD: Country Dance 101
On: February 2, 2013
Look forward to getting more...

"As a beginner with two left feet, even I can follow these instructions. Look forward to getting more country dance videos!"


By: Savannah J
DVD: Couples Line Dancing 101
On: November 8, 2012
The perfect video

"If you have ever wanted to try line dancing with a partner, this is the perfect video. We've been wanting to learn country dancing for years and finally decided we'd give it a shot so we settled on this one as it looked the easiest. We've played it a number of times and have been learning and having fun from day one. Shawn and Joanna are really good at showing you how to do the steps with examples that are easy to understand and they keep it at a very even pace. We were surprised as to how simple the dances were once we'd worked our way through them a couple of times. Their instructions work well as they show each of the dances from all sides when describing what to do, such as how much movement is needed. We just purchased 5 other videos from Shawn Trautman's 101 set and we're excited about what we're going to be learning. "


By: Tonya Drew
DVD: Club Line Dances
On: December 2, 2013
Five Stars

I just purchased Club Line Dances 1&2 and am absolutely thrilled with how easy it was to learn the steps to some of the more popular line dances!! I am not a dancer by any stretch, but with upcoming weddings, I wanted to make sure I could hold my own when these dances come up for the crowds. I tried using YouTube, but I never seemed to be able to follow well and the instructors presumed the viewer knew the basics. In the Club Line Dances instructional DVD set, Shawn and Joanna are able to break down the steps in an easy-to-understand method, and after a couple of practice rounds with them on the DVD, I found myself doing the steps without having to think about it!

The instruction is well-paced, the music was hot, and I liked the options Shawn provided to kick it up a notch if I wanted to, while Joanna continued each dance in the most basic form so you never miss a step. It reminded me of exercise videos where one person always does the routine at a slower pace.

Now, there is one thing you should be aware of - when you get to the bonus section on disc 2, you have to select the first Cha-Cha Slide song from the menu to get the full instruction. If you don't you'll think the instruction is not included.

I already know I'm going to purchase these as gifts for my girlfriends. The dances are great fun, Shawn and Joanna are clear and easy to follow, and I can see this DVD set as a fresh alternative to low impact exercise as well. Oh-- I'm 55 years old and you can bet I'll be on the dance floor like I belong there!!


By: Steve R
DVD: Couples Line Dancing 101
On: July 17, 2012
now we can line dance as a couple!

"We learned individual line dancing from Party Line Dances, but now we can line dance as a couple! This line dance DVD has added a whole new dimension to our social life in the last 2 weeks. Now it is easy to lead and dance with my wife as a couple without having to think a lot about leading. As promised, this is a dance lesson a guy can really enjoy!! Thanks for a great product and experience, Steve and Patti"



Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next