Customer Reviews on Shawn Trautman Instruction Videos (pg. 2)


Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next

By: Sam J
DVD: Double 2-Step 101
On: January 27, 2013
Nicely done - easy to follow

"Nicely done - beginners will learn the basics of Double 2-step and get a strong foundation of this dance while getting to dance quite a few different steps. The format is very easy to follow and I'll definitely use this as a refresher going forward."


By: Savanna K
DVD: Double 2-Step 101
On: December 14, 2012
Shawn and Joanna Trautman made this video fun

"We are getting the hang of these dances and we are loving every minute of it. We still have a lot of learning to do but we are sure having fun trying. This video gave us a lot of new options on our dancing and has given us new challenges. Last weekend we learned the two-step so we thought this would be the logical next step and we were right. The dances definitely have their similarities, but they are more different than they are the same. The triple steps gave us a bit of trouble at first and we are working towards keeping our bodies smooth while we practice (it's not as easy as it sounds). Once again, Shawn and Joanna Trautman made this video fun while breaking the dance into small pieces that we could understand and follow along with. We like that it followed the same structure as Two-Step 101 regarding the foundational pieces (rhythm and timing then style and connection then lead and follow). Once we get all these dances down our next challenge will be knowing which one we use when we are out dancing. Nonetheless, we are really enjoying the lessons and think highly of the 101 videos."


By: Kristen C
DVD: Double 2-Step 101
On: August 19, 2012
SO much fun!!

"Just wanted to let you know that I LOVE the Double Two Step DVD, it is SO much fun!! You two are very thorough with your instructions; you make it easy and comfortable to pick up on the steps and posture… it's just a blast!! Thank you!"


By: D. Robbin
DVD: Double 2-Step 101
On: July 5, 2012
Love it!

"Love it! Your new Double two step video broke down the basics in such a way that my wife and I got it immediately. We've already worked our way through it all and have been out practicing twice in the last week! We've already started telling our friends about how easy you've made this for us. Thanks again!"


By: Roger & Denise
DVD: Double Two-Step M&P Vol. 1
On: December 4, 2012
Lovin' It in Tampa!!

"Thanks Shawn! We love this dance now and are one of only two couples at the Dallas Bull who are now dancing it. Better yet, we've already had 3 other couples ask us what it is and how they can learn it - you can bet we gave them your information! Thanks again!"


By: Haley Kale
DVD: Double Two-Step M&P Vol. 1
On: October 24, 2012
Great Double Two-Step DVD

"We wanted you to know how much fun we had with this DVD. Double Two-Step was the dance we wanted to learn more of after completing your Beginner Series (took us 3 months) and we're hooked! My husband still counts out loud and we occasionally mess up still but like the pace of this dance more than the others. We have gone through Volume 2 already and love the instruction but we haven't mastered it by any means. Please let us know when you have other volumes out as we'd love to keep going."


By: Angela M
DVD: Double Two-Step Video: M&P Vol. 2
On: April 3, 2013
We had no idea

"We just finished the second Double Two-Step video on moves and we're very impressed. We had no idea there were so many little tricks that make this dance so easy. We especially liked how it flowed with the music and that we were able to dance along with you."


By: April W
DVD: Hustle 101
On: April 24, 2013
These instructors make learning how to dance Hustle easy!

"We really enjoyed Hustle 101. Not at all what we expected as we had no idea Hustle could be done to such a wide variety of songs."


By: Milt, R.
DVD: Hustle 101
On: November 7, 2012
Good production quality.

"Straightforward, good production quality, all the detail is there and presented in an understandable way."


By: Melinda B
DVD: NIghtclub Two-Step 101
On: February 14, 2013
Really liked this one - never knew a slow dance could be this fun

"My husband and I are on a quest to become good dancers, and Shawn and Joanna Trautman are superb guides. I've decided to work through the DVDs on my own before my husband I practice them - my husband is doing the same as he can, but I'm really impatient. I can't believe what good exercise Nightclub Two-Step is! This DVD was a whim - I was really going for Salsa with Salsa 101 and Swing Dancing with Swing Dancing 101 but I'm so glad we did this one to. Not only do I have a fun workout with slower tempo music, but I now can dance Nightclub Two-Step!"


By: Jane
DVD: NIghtclub Two-Step 101
On: December 4, 2012
Shawn and Joanna teach the steps in an amazingly simplistic way

"Nightclub Two-Step dance is a great alternative to the slow dance "belly rub". Shawn Trautman teaches the leader's part; his wife Joanna teaches the follower's part. Shawn and Joanna teach the steps in an amazingly simplistic way...very easy to follow. You can practice this DVD today and be out dancing the Nightclub Two-Step tonight! Such a beautiful slow dance! Now, thanks for Shawn Trautman DVD, Nightclub Two-Step is one of my favorite dances!"


By: D. Danner
DVD: NIghtclub Two-Step 101
On: October 9, 2012
Shawn's lead on instruction is very clear

"Shawn and Joanna do an excellent job of covering all the basics of the Nightclub Two-Step in their 101 DVD. We bought it just after completing a local, 6 week beginners NC2S class. The Trautmans covered everything we learned in our 6 week class plus a lot of additional tips and drill suggestions. Their DVD only cost us the equivalent of one night of private instruction and we now have it to refer to as often as we like. Either the private class or the Trautman's DVD alone would have been sufficient for learning the basic NC2S, but in combination they were fantastic. We have since ordered more of their 101 DVDs (Cha Cha & Salsa) and are confident that the Dvd's alone will be all we need to get us started with a new step. (Plus, we will not have to wait until our local instructor offers the particular dance step class we want next.)

Shawn's lead on instruction is very clear and obviously well practiced from teaching experience. Joanna offers many helpful comments that pertain to what the ladies need to be aware of while executing their partner's leads. Together, they make a great instructive team. The DVD is well organized and permits easy revisiting of the sections you wish to focus on, and I really appreciated that they give you a quick preview of what you will be learning as an introduction to the DVD, rather than immediately jumping into the mechanics of the steps. They also did a good job of helping me to understand the rhythm/beat of those tunes where you would use the NC2S. Excellent video and audio quality. My wife and I can easily recommend this DVD to anyone wanting to learn the NC2S. Well done Shawn and Joanna, and thanks for helping us get started on a wonderful activity together as we begin our retirements."


By: Teresa E
DVD: Salsa 101
On: August 29, 2012
easy to follow instructions

"Waiting for Volume 2! I loved the easy to follow instructions, that several steps were taught, and the moves were easy to perform on a crowded dance floor and still looked good."


By: Rigoberto C
DVD: Salsa 101
On: June 18, 2012
excellent for beginners

"Being possibly the only Cuban guy in the world who can't dance Salsa, I found this video to be excellent for beginners. The moves are taught very slowly to start off with and then repeated over and over again to give you a chance to learn them as you participate along with the video. Although I was already taking introductory Salsa lessons prior to purchasing the video, I found the video to be a great supplement because, let's face it, once you leave the dance studio and go back to your regular life you pretty much forget everything you learned."


By: John C
DVD: Salsa 101
On: April 5, 2012
they understand how to teach

"I really enjoyed this DVD by Shawn and Joanna. I was new to Salsa and the steps are demonstrated slowly. Then the man's steps and the woman's steps are broken down and explained. I really appreciated the fact that they tried to demonstrate the various steps slowly. One aspect that is often lost in dance DVDs is that moves are explained too quickly. Unfortunately if one cannot do something slow, one cannot do it fast. In tennis, if one cannot hit forehands slow consistently, one will not be able to hit the ball fast consistently. The Salsa DVD explains dance moves in the slower fashion. Only later are the dances done in real time to illustrate what they would look like on the dance floor. I have enjoyed a number of their DVDs because I believe they understand how to teach. Thanks."


By: PK
DVD: Salsa 101
On: July 22, 2012
Very well made with easy to follow instructions

"After taking a Salsa class recently, I felt the class did not cover enough moves for me to show at the dance floor. So I decided to get this DVD and I am glad I did. It had enough moves for me to show on the dance floor and they were very well explained and demonstated. Being able to quickly rewind and watch the moves over was a plus."


By: Sam J
DVD: Triple Two-Step 101
On: May 6, 2013
Nicely done - easy to follow

"Nicely done - beginners will learn the basics of triple 2-step and get a strong foundation of this dance while getting to dance quite a few different steps. The format is very easy to follow and I'll definitely use this as a refresher going forward."


By: Savanna J
DVD: Triple Two-Step 101
On: March 17, 2013
Shawn and Joanna Trautman made this video fun

"We are getting the hang of these dances and we are loving every minute of it. We still have a lot of learning to do but we are sure having fun trying. This video gave us a lot of new options on our dancing and has given us new challenges. Last weekend we learned the two-step so we thought this would be the logical next step and we were right. The dances definitely have their similarities, but they are more different than they are the same. The triple steps gave us a bit of trouble at first and we are working towards keeping our bodies smooth while we practice (it's not as easy as it sounds). Once again, Shawn and Joanna Trautman made this video fun while breaking the dance into small pieces that we could understand and follow along with. We like that it followed the same structure as Two-Step 101 regarding the foundational pieces (rhythm and timing then style and connection then lead and follow). Once we get all these dances down our next challenge will be knowing which one we use when we are out dancing. Nonetheless, we are really enjoying the lessons and think highly of the 101 videos."


By: Kristen C
DVD: Triple Two-Step 101
On: December 13, 2012
SO much fun!!

"Just wanted to let you know that I LOVE the Triple Two Step DVD, it is SO much fun!! You two are very thorough with your instructions; you make it easy and comfortable to pick up on the steps and posture… it's just a blast!!"


By: D. Robbin
DVD: Triple Two-Step 101
On: Octover 24, 2012
Love it!

"Love it! Your new triple two step video broke down the basics in such a way that my wife and I got it immediately. We've already worked our way through it all and have been out practicing twice in the last week! We've already started telling our friends about how easy you've made this for us. Thanks again!"


By: Angela M
DVD: Triple Two-Step M&P Vol. 2
On: January 26, 2013
We had no idea

"My husband and I just finished the second Triple Two-Step DVD on Moves and we're very impressed. We had no idea there were so many little tricks that make this dance so easy. We especially liked how it flowed with the music and that we were able to dance along (for most of it) with you. We've got a lot to learn and will certainly be practicing in the meantime."


By: Roger & Denise
DVD: Triple Two-Step M&P Vol. 1
On: March 17, 2013
Lovin' It in Tampa!!

"Thanks Shawn! We love this dance now and are one of only two couples at the Dallas Bull who are now dancing it. Better yet, we've already had 3 other couples ask us what it is and how they can learn it - you can bet we gave them your information! Thanks again!"


By: Chris Collins
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: Janary 25, 2011
One of the very best things I ever did!

"I purchased the 2-Step basics videos Vol. 1, 2, and 3 and it is one of the very best things I ever did! I liked the single focus and how in depth it got. After using these instructional videos for a couple of weeks, I went out and danced the 2-Step very well. Many of the women I danced with thought I was an experienced dancer. When I told them this was my first time, they could not believe it!! I have been a classroom teacher for forty years and I know the value of learning something right the first time! If you want to learn the 2-Step the right way, Shawn's videos are the way too go!!"


By: Gary L., Las Vegas NV
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: April 6, 2013
Worth As Much As Private Instruction!

"These DVDs are so good. With 3 discs, Shawn has time to dive into the numerous fundamental details of 2-step, instead of cramming everything onto 1 disc. Each DVD is divided into several sections for easy use.

Volume 1 is a complete breakdown of the 6-beat, 4-step count (quick/quick/slow/slow). Shawn covers a lot of material you need to know: your speed, the size of your steps, positioning, he gives you drills, details the four connection points you and your dance partner will share, he shows you a mirroring exercise, how to turn left and turn right, and more.

Volume 2 covers the different types of leads, the left turn, side by side into cape (sweetheart) position, left turn into wrap, promenade, and more. Shawn gives you little pieces to practice, demostrating with and w/o music, breaking down each hand or foot movement. BTW it's nice to listen to today's country music songs Shawn plays in the background as he instructs.

Volume 3 introduces prep steps, torque turns, 1/2 turns, single turns, 1.5 turns, and more. Shawn ties all of the prior 2-step concepts together, such as when to use the moves, and what happens as a lead that can cause you to not stop her turn, and there are plenty of drills to help you practice.

It's also very helpful that Shawn repeats the moves he teaches, so you don't necessarily have to stop or pause the dvd every few seconds, you can keep it running forward, and each time he repeats a move, he adds new tips each time. These 3 DVDs also help prepare you for the longer moves and intermediate/advanced pattern dvds in Shawn's collection, I can't wait to order them and practice!"


By: Linda, Houston, TX
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: May 2, 2013
Take the fear out of leading!

"My husband and I have been trying to learn to dance at the old age of 50 - "It is hard to teach an old dog new tricks!" Shawn's break down of how to do the steps & how to confidently LEAD them has given my husband the courage and skill to keep learning! Shawn teaches how to put the moves together. The result? A husband less overwhelmed by his responsibilites of leading, and more FUN on the dance floor! Our teens have preferred the faster moving "Two-Step 101". They both have different moves beyond the basic step taught on them so it is worth it to own both if you have different ages learning in your house. It has been SO great to be a able to practice in our own home, and on our own time. The teaching is so well done we will be getting more for the different styles of dance."


By: Tawannae, Mesa, AZ
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: April 30, 2012
YOU CAN LEARN TO DANCE!!

"This DVD set is excellent for learning the two-step. Shawn breaks the basics down in such a way that it is almost like having private lessons. Shawn makes you feel like he is right in your living room!! I am attending group lessons but I learned so much more from watching Shawn in this video. I am so excited I am going to order the complete set and the WEST COAST SWING and share with friends! I had a friend who I thought was hopeless and after watching volume one he got up and danced exactly to the beat... something he did not do at the actual lessons we attended! Thank you SHAWN!!"


By: Bob & Shirley H., Tulsa, OK
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: January 11, 2012
Great Stuff

"We were new to country dancing when we bought our first set of Shawn Trautman's videos several years ago, which literally got us out on the floor and dancing. We recently bought the new 3 Disc Set 2-step basic video series and, just like the other videos that we already own, this set is great. We are now planning to order the 10 video 2-step Intermediate and Advanced series. Thank you Shawn Trautman for getting us on the flooring and dancing the 2-step."


By: Joe Parks, CA
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: October 2, 2012
These Basics are Solid!

"I also want to add that the basics was an excellent foundation and here's why. My girlfriend is an experienced solo dancer in multiple styles (line, hip hop, lyrical, etc.). But she is not very experienced in couples dancing. When I was using your basics DVDs the very beginning of the summer, I had near no knowledge of dancing. I just started some line dancing at country western bars. With that background considered, I looked at your DVDs mainly by myself. My girlfriend was very busy but also a little impatient to sit through the DVDs, she'll admit. She would say, "I'm a good follower, just lead and spin me." She is generally great at winging-it since she is a fast learner and adjuster. I'm the opposite, I am a slow learner but I have a great memory. Here is my point. After I got a solid understanding of the steps by myself, I practiced my garage a few times with my girlfriend and it was incredibly easy for me to describe what I was going to do, whether a step, prep, or turn. Because the DVDs move at a snail's pace, it was very easy for me to understand not only where to step, but weight shift and hand position. I have tried picking up line dances on youtube but the steps and weight shifting runs together and I cant pick it up properly. Also, because you reveal common misconceptions and bad habits, it was easy to spot. Next thing you know, we go dancing and I only do half turns the entire night. Then, I work on cape and wrap only. We start cleaning up the steps. The basics you gave me were so solid, that it has been very easy to add more to my dancing menu. Thank you!"


By: tcagle, Seattle, WA
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: August 27, 2011
Two Step Basics Vol 1 thr 3

"This is the best two step video I have seen.We have been through the basic set of dvd's and they were great. It shows the basic moves much better than the local two step class that we took. The class will rush through the basics way too fast and move on to other moves before you are ready to move up. This is much better than group two step class although the practice with different partners in the class is good. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give these videos a 9.8 only because I never give a 10. Thank you Shawn for the wonderful work you did on these DVDs. It was better than i hoped for.

We have some good two step instructors but I think using the DVDs in addition to the class is better than either one alone because you can watch it again and again until you understand what you missed the first time. We watched the dvd's one at a time about one a month. It is most important that you go out and dance after learning from the video to get the steps burned in to your memory. I am 63 so if you are younger it might be easier for you. Even if you know how to two step already this is a good review and might help get rid of some faults you don't realize you have."


By: AK Hunter, North Pole, AK
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: January 8, 2013
2-Step Made Simple Enough For ANYBODY

"This 3 Volume set of dance instruction was very well organized in not only the dance instruction, but also in the way the DVDs were formatted. A lot of the material (especially on disc 1) is extremely slow paced and basic which is good if you're a beginner that needs to learn 2-Step from the ground up. Each DVD is broken up into 3 separate lessons. If you get bored with the slow paced, step by step instruction you can skip the lesson and go strait into the moves by selecting "review" from the main menu on each DVD. Additionally, each lesson is followed up by bonus and practice features that you can select to learn additional moves and positions as well as receive suggestions of how to practice and master the 2-step in a variety of drills that you can do at home, while seated, or even while pushing a cart at the grocery store. This DVD set is a must whether you are an absolute beginner or you already know the 2-Step but don't want to be stuck just dancing a basic around the dance floor in a circle without any moves."


Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next