Customer Reviews on Shawn Trautman Instruction Videos (pg. 3)


Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next

By: John E. Traynor
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: August 30, 2012
Basics, Basics, Basics!

"Shawn Trautman's 2-Step Basics is in two words is, The Best! In this 3 DVD set Shawn breaks down 2-Step basics in three separate sections. On the Vol. 1 he shows you the four connection points for a great lead & follow connection. He then has you practice the rhythm pattern of 2-Step (quick,quick,slow,slow) forward, backwards and side by side so that muscle memory starts to take over. Then he takes you in to a simple left turn.
In Vol. 2 Shawn expands on the Left Turn taking you into three different turning positions. Cape, Wrap, and Promenade positions, which all will advance your dancing to the next level.
Finally in Vol. 3, Shawn and his lovely partner Nicole Frye who is also a great dancer with a beautiful smile, will take you through Prep Steps to get you into Cape, and other side by side positions plus the One & A Half exit to get you back to close position. All these Basics lead to a much better dance experience when you finally hit the floor.
I too have Shawn's other 3 DVD sets on Country 2-Step and West Coast Swing. All I can say is they are all great. I keep going back to them to refresh my mind as I become a better dancer.
This 2-Step Basics DVD set does that also. It keeps reminding me of the simple basics that I've forgotten and have to fix. Add in a visual pleasing studio set, beautiful Nicole Frye, (who I don't mind watching) and many camera angles so you will always see the feet, and you have a wonderful learning tool. Shawn in his simple yet commanding teaching method had me learning right out of the box and he'll do the same for you. He has made me a happy 2-Step dancer!
Do yourself a favor and get this DVD set!."


By: Ronald A. Broadhurst
DVD: 2-Step Basics V. 1-3
On: February 8, 2012
New 2-Step DVDs

"Just went through Shawn Trautman's Country 2-Step Basics DVD set and I really enjoyed it! I also have Trautman's older set of 2-step dance lesson DVDs and I can honestly say this set is even better. The new set breaks down the basics into manageable pieces and really encourages you to practice and do the exercises between the training sessions. Each pattern is shown several times and from different angles. Definitely highly recommended for beginners and even for people who know some 2-step already. These videos will give you enough to get out and go dancing and give you the foundation that's needed for the more intermediate videos."


By: L Olson
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: May 2, 2013
Dancing made EASY!

"A great way to pick up new skills for the next dance! I love Shawn's teaching & Joanna's exuberance. The DVD setup makes it easy to go directly to the section you need to practice."


By: Gary Lee
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: March 29, 2013
A MUST HAVE DVD, enjoyable to watch, enjoyable to practice

"It can be frustrating buying a dance instruction DVD not knowing if you'll enjoy it, but you should take that chance with Shawn Trautman's DVD series, which are professionally put together in HD, with great camera work, excellent lighting, clear audio, and fabulous speakers. Shawn and Joanna are naturals at communicating with the audience, great chemistry, and both have a great sense of humor. The two-step 101: beginner country dance lesson DVD is very good and very enjoyable.

I've been dancing for years, having learned on my own, but that doesn't mean I learned all of the basic fundamentals. Watching this DVD shows how much I've missed. And if you miss out on the fundamentals, you'll have trouble over time in different areas of your two-step with rhythm, timing, how to lead (men), and how to follow (women), etc.

Guys, when you dance with a girl, but she declines to dance with you again, she won't tell you why, and often times it just may have something to do with how you lead, maybe you were difficult to follow, or maybe your hand placement is wrong (too high or too low) and uncomfortable to her. Fix the basics!

This DVD is great for both men and women. Ladies, instead of waiting for guys to teach you two-step on the dance floor, why not impress him by having an idea what you're doing ahead of time? As fun as it is for some guys to teach new girls how to dance when you meet, it's even more fun when she already knows the basics, so we can move on to other intermediate dance moves w/o fumbling around. Besides, there just isn't enough time to teach someone the basics on a dance floor during a 4 minute song, teaching has to be done out of a nightclub one-on-one, or you can use this DVD.

It's also very difficult if not impossible to master other intermediate/advanced two-step moves w/o getting the basics down. One step at a time, this two-step 101 DVD is truly the first step!"


By: 'nmisenti'
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: March 28, 2013
Great Introduction to 2 Step

"The DVD is easy to follow and focuses on the fundamentals of 2 Step, i.e., foot movement, connection points, and movement. At the end there is an introduction to something more advanced, turning to change leads and then back again. While the other DVD's in the 2 Step collection are needed to master the 2 Step, I plan on buying those other DVD's based on the quality of the introductory DVD. A discount may be offered after the first purchase. An added bonus is that you can learn in private and for less cost than private lessons."


By: Linda J Heilbel Pridgen
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: August 5, 2012
Fast Shipping!

"This package arrived as if it sprouted wings. I got it in just a couple of days! Wow! Can't wait to get started refreshing our dance moves so we can get back on the dance floor. We've just been too busy to practice but I'll write another review when we use this product. Just can't believe how quickly this arrived for us. Thanks!"


By: Dianne L
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: January 3, 2012
..instruction is great..

"I think Shawn's dance instruction is great. I have been wanting to learn to two-step for a long time. I do not want to just go out on the dance floor without some practice and instruction, so these DVDs work perfect for me. I practice in the privacy of my own home… Now, I can't wait to hit the dance floor. Thanks Shawn"


By: Karen H
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: May 8, 2012
Very easy to follow. ..

"Very easy to follow. I really like how you break down the steps for both the leader and the follower."


By: Savannah
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: May 8, 2012
Really good at what they do

"Learning Two-Step is nothing like line dancing and my head is still spinning as there are so many little things we were unaware of. There's a certain freedom that comes from dancing with your partner and there's also a certain fear I didn't know existed; as in I now have to trust him to lead me correctly. This has made for an interesting weekend project for us and we have worked our way through this video from start to finish two times as we are determined to get it down.

Shawn and Joanna are really good at what they do and make it a point to show the steps in a way that's easy to see and at a pace where we could keep up (mostly). We especially liked the rhythm and style sections where it gave us a lot of things to work on and feel before trying it together. The lead and follow section has us a bit challenged at the moment but we are having fun. It's going to take a little time but this video is definitely worth it as it provides a really neat starting point."


By: Terry
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: May 25, 2012
Having fun learning

"We don't have a dancing background but we are having fun learning the basic two step, and the other transitions included in the training: the Basket (or Wrap), the Promenade (with side step and vine step), the One and a Half Torque Turn, and Sweet Heart (side by side). Currently planning on purchasing additional training DVD's by Shawn."


By: Sam
DVD: Two-Step 101
On: April 27, 2012
It's Wonderful

"I just purchased this item and me and my husband love it(: very detailed!!! and you get your money's worth!!

I would recomend it:) and Shawn is very nice! I got to talk to him on the phone (:"


By: J. Wilkins
DVD: Two-Step: M&P Volume 1
On: December 15, 2011
Good first step to two step

"Two step has always scared me a little because it really moves quickly down the floor. Kind of like driving on a crowded highway, you better know what you are doing or it could get ugly. In Arizona where I am located, we have our own version called the Arizona Two Step. It doesn't travel nearly so much and is much easier to learn than the progressive or Texas Two Step which this video covers. So I have found it very helpful to find a DVD that teaches the basics in a very clear way. After watching this video I feel like I now have the tools I need to two step with some confidence and style. The moves are shown slowly at first but little by little increase in speed. There are plenty of cool moves to learn, particularly in the bonus section. I really like the review section. It is kind of a Cliff's notes version of the full lesson. Very helpful if you want to refresh your memory a bit without having to view the whole video again. Even if I never learned another two step move I feel that what I have learned on this video would be more than adequate to take to the dance floor and have a lot of fun. Dancing is all about confidence, and mastering this material will go a long way towards increasing your enjoyment of this fun dance."


By: J. Apgar
DVD: Two-Step: M&P Volume 1
On: October 9, 2011
Two-Step Moves & Patterns Volume 1 ROCKS!

"I absolutely love this DVD! The primary topics covered are how to get into a promenade, and then how to exit the promenade into mirrored vines or skater's position. Shawn Trautman continues to show what a wonderful dance instructor he is by showing the foot-work while explaining what he did to lead each move. I especially enjoyed the Bonus section of the DVD where Shawn Trautman and Nicole Frye shared other options to exit the previous moves, such as torque turns and faster mirrored vines. I will continue to purchase Shawn Trautman's instructional dance videos-they are always exceptional."


By: Lisbeth
DVD: Two-Step: M&P Volume 1
On: July 26, 2011
Perfect choice to begin this series

"After the basics in Two-Step, Volume 1 is a perfect choice to begin this series. Although I started with Volume 2, I'm glad I came back for this one. It really gets you out on the floor and enjoying dancing. Shawn introduces you to the Promenade which moves you out of the Closed Position and into positions like the Mirrored Vine. This has you and your partner going down the floor in a vine fashion. From here you have options like the Skaters' position which is a side by side and can include turns and a release that takes you back to the Closed Position. These DVD's have really opened up the dance floor to my partner and me. We look forward to each Volume."


By: Ronald A
DVD: Two-Step: M&P Volume 1
On: June 18, 2011
I would highly recommend this new DVD set!

"Wow! I am really pleased with this latest set of Two-Step DVD videos from Shawn Trautman. I have several of his previous videos including the Basic Two-Step three DVD set. The first two DVDs of this intermediate level set that I have studied are just awesome. These first two DVDs cover the promenade, skaters, cape and wrap patterns to get you started. The pattern moves are repeated several times and shown from different angles so that you can see all the subtleties of the different patterns presented. Then there are review and practice chapters on each DVD. I really feel that now I can go out on the dance floor and look like I know something about this dance. I am looking forward to the release of the remainder of this set of DVDs. I would highly recommend this new DVD set to anyone wanting to improve their Two-Step knowledge."


By: Gary Lee
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V2
On: May 13, 2013
Nice Volume, Use the Tips & Tricks

Vol. 2 continues to build off Vol. 1., focusing on hand changes, special techniques for outside torque turns/ guy turn/ lady free turn/ wrap.

This is another of my favorite volumes because these moves are very popular in the country dance halls, which some guys do incorrectly. It's one thing to go through the motions on the dance floor, sure you can stumble through it on a dance floor, but it's quite another to hit the move with good hand placement, in step, with rhythm. Shawn and Nicole teach you key micro hand movements along with many tips that guys MUST do (and girls MUST learn what the guys are trying to do) in order for the moves to work properly.

You simply cannot pick up the subtle hand changes or hand placements by observing people on the dance floor because it all happens way too fast; the moves will be invisible to you. The instruction from Shawn and Nicole are superb, as usual! They breakdown these subtle moves piece by piece so you can perfect them.

Let me give you an example of what happens if you do NOT use the tips Shawn teaches in the video: When I practiced the sequence of dance moves (in Section 1 of the DVD, outside torque turn + 1 guy turn + lady free turn) over the weekend at my local country dance hall, the girls spun too fast, or too many times, or were confused. Why is that? Because "I" failed to execute the moves correctly! When I went back to the DVD to see what happened, I noticed I was not using the tips Shawn taught me! I needed to stop the girl from turning by using the little trick (for guys) Shawn taught in the video. That's why it's so important to use the tips Shawn/Nicole give you, otherwise you're just going through the basic motions. You should practice exactly what's in the DVDs, and go back to review to check if you've missed anything, often you'll see that extra tip you need to add into your moves.


By: Ronald A. Broadhurst
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V2
On: June 18, 2011
Shawn Trautman New Two-Step DVDs

"Wow! I am really pleased with this latest set of Two-Step DVD videos from Shawn Trautman. I have several of his previous videos including the Basic Two-Step three DVD set. The first two DVDs of this intermediate level set that I have studied are just awesome. This second DVD in the series covers the cape and wrap patterns that will be the foundation for more patterns. The pattern moves are repeated several times and shown from different angles so that you can see all the subtleties of the different patterns presented. Then there are review and practice chapters on each DVD. And then there is a bonus chapter on each DVD with optional moves that can be added to the patterns presented before. I really feel that now I can go out on the dance floor and look like I know something about this dance. I am looking forward to the release of the remainder of this set of DVDs. I would highly recommend this new DVD set to anyone wanting to improve their Two-Step knowledge."


By: Lisbeth
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V2
On: July 11, 2011
Can't wait for the next Volume

"In Volume 2 of Two-Step Moves & Patterns, Shawn breaks down wraps and turns that look complicated but within minutes you're dancing right along with him. Using my very basic knowledge of Two-Step, I was able to learn all the moves in a short time. Can't wait for the next Volume."


By: Gary Lee
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V3
On: June 4, 2013
Adding Exciting New Turns and 'Switches'

"My favorite part of the Two-Step Moves & Patterns dvds is the Introduction - because that's when you see for the very first time what dance moves are gonna be taught, at full speed, just like you'd see the moves you like for the first time in the country dance halls; it's that type of moment when it hits you just how cool those moves are that you wanna learn!

Starting from the closed position, Shawn & Nicole teach side-by-side (sweetheart) switches, and btw these switches are very helpful for navigating around drunk people on the dance floor. Along the way, Shawn & Nicole show you other modifications and adjustments for when people are in your way on the dance floor.

Shawn also talks about different kinds of leads (guys pay attention to this); plus rotating side-by-side switches from the cape (sweetheart) position, a.k.a. 'the run around'; and ending with an open release (free turn). For fun, Shawn adds a couple turns for the ladies into the pattern right before the 'rotating side-by-side switch', thus naming it the 'triple-turn with two 1-hand connections'. The bonus material teaches you techniques on how to speed up the turns.

You definitely want to watch this DVD at least a couple of times before trying the moves out because the familiarity you get from viewing it more than once really helps cement the moves into your head so they become more natural and memorable... the more you watch it, the easier it becomes. It's like a learning a new line dance, the more you see it, the more it becomes ingrained into your dance routine."


By: Ronald A. Broadhurst
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V3
On: June 26, 2011
I would continue to highly recommend this new DVD

"I have just finished going through the third DVD of this intermediate two-step dance DVD set. This one presents several patterns for the cape position, one of the basic positions in the two-step dance. My favorite is the rotating switch positions pattern. A very sharp looking pattern, but easy to learn. Like the previous DVDs in this set, there are chapters after the pattern lessons for review and practice and a bonus chapter with variations on the pattern lessons presented earlier. I would continue to highly recommend this new DVD set to anyone wanting to improve their Two-Step knowledge."


By: Lisbeth
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V3
On: July 16, 2011
I love the way they all work together

"In Volume 3 of Two-Step Moves and Patterns, changing sides (Switches) with your partner becomes as easy as walking down the line of dance. Lots of nice turns including a double for the lady that progresses into a third turn where she and her partner combine for a final turn, very impressive. This accentuates the partners' connection. This is one of my favorite turns.

My partner really likes the way Shawn explains the hand positions in detail so that each move is executed perfectly. We are ready for the next Volume. I love the way they all work together."


By: Lisbeth
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V4
On: July 26, 2011
Detailed instructions to help you accomplish the move

"Volume 4 shows presentations both front and back with open release and underarm turns. It shows moves that build to very graceful presentations. The combination turns and especially the back turn for the leader can really be challenging. This is where the stop and pause buttons on the DVD Player come in handy. Shawn really gives detailed instructions to help you accomplish the move the way it is intended to be done. This move really looks great and is well worth the extra effort it took us. Now it flows so smoothly, it seems like we have been doing it forever."


By: Lisbeth
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V5
On: August 16, 2011
Feel and look absolutely confident

"In a very short period of time you complete one turn after the other, singles, doubles and partner turns. You move down the line of dance quickly changing direction often. The men really have some great moves that build on the ladies moves. This DVD is essential for the dancers who really want to feel and look absolutely confident. It has the smoothest combinations. After completing Vols 1 through 4, Volume 5 adds the step up that is just right to bring enjoyment as well as accomplishment to your dancing experience."


By: Ronald A Broadhurst
DVD: Two-Step Moves & Patterns V5
On: August 3, 2011
One of the very best things I ever did!

"I have just finished going through the fifth DVD of this intermediate two-step dance DVD set. This one presents several patterns for the promenade position, one of the basic positions in the two-step dance. I really liked this one as it taught some moves where the man gets to do turns. Like the previous DVDs in this set, one section's pattern builds on the previous section's lesson. And there are chapters after the three pattern lessons for review and practice and a bonus chapter with variations on the pattern lessons presented earlier. I would continue to highly recommend this new DVD set to anyone wanting to improve their Two-Step knowledge."


Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next