Customer Reviews on Shawn Trautman Instruction Videos (pg. 5)


Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next

By: Naomi M
DVD: Country Western Dance Sampler
On: November 22, 2012
Great for beginners.

"I have no country western dance experience at all and thought this DVD gave me and my partner a great foundation to work from."


By: Lisa D.
DVD: Country Western Dance Sampler
On: July 1, 2007
Excellent beginner instruction!

"The Trautman videos are the easiest to follow dance instruction I've ever seen. The higher price is just about the only reason I can't give the Country Sampler a 5 star rating. Here are the things that will keep me buying Trautman videos despite the higher-in-comparison pricing:
1. The sampler videos are a great way to get exposed to many different kinds of dancing and to decide which ones to explore more fully. (If you find a dance style you really want to learn about, you can always buy the DVD specifically for that dance with the more advanced instruction)
2. From the very beginning Shaun and Joanna are dancing together. (In other series like "Invitation to Dance" the lady spends half the time standing around doning nothing while the male instructor shows the leads what to do.)
3. The tidbits that Joanna throws out for the follows are very helpful. It's nice not to having everything in a dance video taught from the leads point of view -- instead both parts are taught together as they are meant to be danced together.
4. There is a good focus placed on how the leader lets their partner know what's coming by using the proper holds, arm positions, pressure in the hands, etc. After all, fancy steps are no good if you and your partner aren't dancing the same ones.
5. The demonstrations generally use a sideways position that lets both partners see what their feet should be doing, but they also show you from different views when this is needed.
6. The basic steps that are taught are easily enough for me to go into a dance hall and not feel like an idiot, and it leaves me competent enough that I can seek out the competent and better dancers to partner with and I can then learn the more advanced moves from them. (This probably only works for the following partner and not the leader....)"


By: J. Sheffer
DVD: Country Western Dance Sampler
On: December 5, 2006
First rate!

"My wife and I are new to ballroom dancing in the last year. We've taken some lessons, but found that we needed the extra help of videos that we can use on our own schedule in our home and we've tried a bunch of them. This DVD and the whole series of new videos from Shawn Trautman have been a godsend and much more useful to us than the others we've tried. We are actually doing the dances within a short time and having fun, rather than getting aggravated with one another. Trautman's emphasis on the differing roles of leader and follower and the very clear demonstrations of those roles have helped us enormously. These DVDs include much more music and time to practice the new steps than most videos, rather than just watching an instructor do a step and go to another step. We like this video a lot and strongly recommend it. On a side note, the logistics/timing of shipping and subsequent email communications with the company were, after many frustrations with other online outfits, the best we've seen."


By: Ann M.
DVD: Country Western Dance Sampler
On: August 11, 2011
Excellent Instruction.

"Another great DVD. Shawn Trautman has a unique ability to give excellent instruction that is detailed, clear and presented in a logical order that is easy to learn from. All of the lessons on this DVD were easy to follow and the picture-in-picture close-up shots of their feet were very helpful. The lessons move at a pace well-suited for someone who likes detailed instruction yet wants to keep moving forward at a good clip. I love country music, and the music selection on this DVD was energetic and kept my interest. During the 2-step lesson, I was inspired to pick up my guitar to see if I could figure out the picking pattern - VERY COOL! We went through this DVD just one time and felt very comfortable, even though the polka wore us out (who would want to dance that one over and over??) :-) Five stars."


By: Peggy W.
DVD: Country Western Dance Sampler
On: November 25, 2006
BOOTS AND HAT TIME!

"I FOUND THIS DVD PUTTING ME IN THE MOOD FOR BOOTS AND HATS.THE WAY SHAWN AND JOANNA TEACHES HOW TO HOLD EACH OTHER MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD.IT'S ALL IN THE PATTERN OF STEPS THEY TEACH.THIS ONE IS ENERGICING AND INTERTAINING.JUST GREAT."


By: Amy H
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: May 8, 2013
Better Than an In-Person Lesson

"This DVD isn't intimidating, and it basically puts a world-renowned dance teacher in your living room. I actually think it's better than an in-person lesson because you're able to see the steps from every angle. By the end of the lesson, I was so excited that I had learned the steps - it's almost as if I internalized them."


By: Jane A
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: March 11, 2013
Simply the Best!

"I'm so glad I ordered Dance Lessons 101 and am impressed by how simple it was to follow. Shawn Trautman lives up to his reputation in this one of being one of the best instructors. He and his wife are very patient and certainly know what it means to teach beginners. Overall, great instructions - we loved it and will continue ordering more. BRAVO!"


By: Dawn
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: December 20, 2012
Excellent overview and intro to several ballroom and social dance styles

"I highly recommend the Shawn Trautman instructional dance DVDs. Shawn and his wife Joanna are excellent teachers. Shawn does a good job of breaking down the footwork and also provides tips on style and leading. Joanna does a very good job of providing info on following and style- and she makes cute and funny comments along the way. They are very down to earth and personable and really care about feedback from dancers.

This DVD is a great place to start for an overview of many of the most popular ballroom and social dance styles. Each dance is covered briefly in one chapter. If you want more detail about a specific dance you could purchase a DVD from Shawn Trautman's collection devoted to that specific dance (which we decided to do with west coast swing- which is actually a series of several DVDs). However, even from this one DVD we were able to learn enough basics, footwork, and rhythm to do nightclub two step, cha cha cha, and hustle on the dance floor in public. This is also a great overview for an "advanced beginner"- someone who is already a dancer in one or more styles and wants to learn a new dance."


By: John J. Kirschman
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: November 5. 2012
It's About Time I Really Learned How To Dance!!!

"Ten and twenty years ago, my wife and I took a few months of weekly dancing lessons for around $600 each. After each lesson, I couldn't remember much of what we had learned in the previous lesson and my wife and I would disagree with our steps. Because each of the dance companies were preparing us to dance competitively, although we were there to learn to dance socially, my back was always hurting after each lesson from trying to conform my body to these exact positionings. My wife and I learned very little, and thus when we went out dancing we rarely used anything from our dance lessons but just danced like everyone else did, so we could have fun. When we saw others dancing ballroom style, they always danced the same basic moves counter-clockwise around the dance floor (i.e., forward, left turns, and lady turns), regardless of which dance they were performing.

After 33 years of marriage and dancing in our own styles, I thought I'd try learning ballroom dancing for my wife again but decided to try something different. I bought 6 of Shawn's dancing DVD's and took them with us on our vacation, watching one dance lesson each day, taking my time analyzing them and making detailed notes of each move (my wife would watch them after I had studied them, as she could learn faster and remember better than I did). In each lesson, we learned more than several lessons with either of the dance companies I mentioned above. Then my wife and I took our time to slowly work on each dance together. We moved the chairs and table out of the kitchens and set up speakers that were hooked up to my computer to play music, and would dance for an hour each night to different songs. Just for fun, we even tried new moves that Shawn hadn't taught and probably doesn't exist. Learning to dance was enjoyable and dancing with my wife turned out to be a wonderful experience - I finally understood the joy of dancing with one I love. After three weeks traveling through the U.S. and dancing almost every day, my wife and I knew how to perform 10 different dances well. We next went on a cruise, where we danced these dances every night and received compliments that we appeared to have been dancing for years.

Since our cruise, we were unable to dance for a few weeks, so I forgot many of our dance moves. Unlike taking lessons from the dance companies, we didn't have to pay to relearn the dances - I went back to my notes and went back to Shawn's lessons and were quickly able to relearn the dances.

We have since purchased additional dance videos from Shawn and will purchase additional ones in a few months. He takes his time instructing us and gives various angles to his lessons. I'm sure you will see how great he and his wife do from the other reviewers, so there's no need to cover that here. I just want you to see the benefits of purchasing his DVD's over taking dance lessons from the dance companies (even if you want to compete, I suggest you learn the dance lessons from him first, as he was a dance teacher at one of those companies long ago according to his statements on his DVD's and in his book)."


By: Fraser M
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: October 14, 2012
Great product

"Good clear unintimidating instruction from a regular guy. Great product."


By: Darrell B
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: October 1, 2012
Very happy

"I bought this to make the wife very happy. With this instruction video we had the ability to repeat a part very quickly. I loved the ease of observing everything I needed to do at a slower pace."


By: Jana M
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: July 18, 2012
Easy to follow

"I bought this for exercise. I loved that it was easy to follow with good songs."


By: Debra O
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: February 6, 2012
Clear instruction and demonstration

"I'm a beginner dancer, and received these as gifts. I like the clear instruction and demonstration. Thanks for a quality instructional tool."


By: Jim and Katy E
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: November 18, 2011
good preview presentation of dances

"We love to dance. We enjoyed the good preview presentation of dances."


By: Chris G
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: August 30, 2011
Good job!

"Very clear instruction - good quality video. Articulate explanation. Good job! I'm a reasonably experienced ballroom dancer, east and west coast swing dancer (1.5 year Fred Astaire followed by independent WCS classes and lessons). I appreciat the clarity of your video and instruction."


By: Ron K
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: July 8, 2011
Very good DVD

"Very good DVD. I like the style and we learned a lot from the DVD. We really like the way the steps were broken down."


By: Robert T
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: January 21. 2011
Great DVD

"Simple explanation and break down of dance steps."


By: Linda W
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: October 17, 2010
Easy to understand

"Easy to understand, simple, I can replay it as many times as I need."


By: Christopher M
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: March 18, 2010
easy to follow

"Very detailed and easy to follow instructions with two different perspective views of the dance instructors."


By: Hak-Yam
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: April 9, 2010
Clear instruction

"Simple clear instruction for a beginner like me. This is my first DVD from Shawn Trautman, and I am going to buy a second one."


By: Debra H
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: November 4, 2009
Great Video

"Easy to follow instructions. Generally plenty of repetition to get the steps down."


By: LeShelle W
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: March 27, 2009
Overall, I really like the DVD

"Liked Most: Logical arrangement: sample of dance then step by step instruction then fuller demonstration. The time taken to explain lead/follow, touch points, etc. was also very helpful. Overall, I really like the DVD; it meets my goal of practicing between actual dance classes. It has also given me a preview of other dances that I might like to learn."


By: L. Jackson
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: October 8, 2008
Great for Beginners!

"I bought Dance Lessons 101 and Line Dance 101 on Amazon.com because of their reviews and totally agree. My husband and I could not be happier with our purchase and we will definitely be back for more of the other titles. We love how you break down the steps for beginners and make it simple and non-intimidating. Many thanks Shawn!"


By: bob_allison
DVD: Dance Lessons 101
On: August 19, 2008
Clear and Simple

"Just wanted to pass a quick note along to say how much we enjoyed your 101 dvd. It was just as clear and simple as you stated and we're glad we started with it. It's made for fun practicing and we've certainly learned a lot!"


By: Annette Wilhoyt
DVD: Essential Line Dances Vol 1
On: March 13, 2012
I completely recommend this to anyone

"I am a beginner learning line dances and I bought this CD to get myself started. The lessons are taught step-by-step and are easy to follow since the instructor shows you a few moves at a time and shows them from different angles. You build on previous moves and before you know it, you're dancing! I have already applied some of the dances at a local club, and I was so proud that I was able to do them! I completely recommend this to anyone, beginner or not, if you want to learn the dances on this CD. I never floundered, never got lost and practiced a few times and had it down pat. The instructor really knows how to teach."


Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next